About NGS


The NGS Awards program recognizes scholarship, service, excellence, and achievement in the fields of genealogy, history, and biography by presenting awards to individuals and to societies and organizations.

The presentation of these awards is administered by the NGS Awards Committee, which sets deadlines for the receipt of nominations. Notice of the deadlines is sent to the Board of Directors and to the membership through NGS Magazine, NGS Monthly, and by email and NGS Monthly. Nominations are submitted to the NGS Awards Committee, which reviews and evaluates the nominations. All nominations must include contact information (name, email, and phone) for nominees and the person(s) nominating them.

Nomination forms can be submitted online.

Deadline for all submissions is 15 December, annually.


The Rabbi Malcolm H. Stern Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizes an individual whose positive influence and leadership have fostered unity and helped make family history a vital force in the community.  The recipient need not be a member of NGS. Nominations require the submission of a high-resolution digital photo of the nominee.

Stern Nominations Form (Online) >

Fellow of the National Genealogical Society (FNGS)

To recognize outstanding work in the field of genealogy or the related fields of history, biography, or heraldry, in addition to outstanding service to the National Genealogical Society. A nominee must have been a member of NGS for at least five years. See the list of Honored NGS Fellows >

Fellow of the National Genealogical Society Nomination Form (Online) >

Lou D. Szucs Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes a member’s exemplary contributions to the National Genealogical Society.  Nominees must have been a member of NGS for at least one year.

Szucs Nomination Form (Online) >

Award of Merit

Awarded to an individual or nonprofit genealogical or historical organization in recognition of exceptional contributions to the field of genealogy over a period of five or more years that have significantly aided research or increased interest in genealogy. The nominee need not be a member of NGS. This award may be presented to an individual or institution more than once.

Award of Merit Nomination Form (Online) >

The Shirley Langdon Wilcox Award for Exemplary Volunteerism

To recognize a volunteer whose generosity of spirit and time has greatly benefited the National Genealogical Society and the genealogical community in general over a period of years. The recipient must be a member of NGS.

Wilcox Nomination Form (Online) >

Filby Award for Genealogical Librarianship

Sponsored by Pro-Quest, this award honors an outstanding librarian whose primary focus is genealogy and local history.

Filby Nomination Form (Online)>

Genealogical Tourism Award

Recognizes an individual’s or an organization’s efforts to communicate the importance of repositories–libraries, archives, and research sites–as “go to” destinations to fully advance family history research.

Tourism Nomination Form (Online) >

The following awards are nominated and decided by the Awards Committee, the NGS President and Board of Directors, and/or the NGS Family History Conference chairs. Applications not accepted.

Conference Awards

Recognizes sustained service by a member organization in support of an NGS Family History Conference. They also acknowledge and express appreciation for the hard work of individual conference chairs.

President’s Citation

Awarded at the discretion of the Society’s president to recognize and acknowledge particular, dedicated efforts on behalf of NGS.